The Long Winter

With the club still mothballed and a rotation of tier 2, national lockdown and now tier 3, I bored of this Covid.

If course, if the worst I’m affected is a bit of bored lethargy, then that is something of a result in a global pandemic I suppose. But I’m missing gaming.

In late summer, I managed to get a couple of games of Oathmark and a few of a steampunk naval battle game of my own design – an excuse to dust down our DW miniatures.

Oathmark is pretty good. Nothing mind-blowing in the mechanics, just quite a solid fantasy rank-and-flank ruleset. What I really like about the game is the kingdom creation and campaign aspects and that Pandora’s box still awaits.

My naval game in a steampunk setting is, and I’ll admit a certain bias of course, very playable with quite a lot of potential. Unfortunately an increasingly insane work-life balance has put paid to further development for now.

On the painting table I have been working on my DW Ottomans and whittling away at my WAB / Clash of Spears project – Gauls. Motivation, however, fades as the prospect of game nights sinks into the distant depths of 2021.

Leave a comment