Clueless 40k – A Lack of Cover…

With my first game two short evenings away, in addition to scrabbling around, throwing paint at a few miniatures to complete my first 1000 or so points, I am also trying to make a start on some terrain.

Needless to say my opponent, Hapless Steve, will not have cast his wandering mind toward the battlefield. Earlier in the week he told me he had had only maybe 700 points ish of Space Marines done, so I imagine I be lucky to face a painted army (given both his high painting standards and low work rate). The idea that he’ll be cranking out any scenery (which would be a first for any games system he has played, to the best of knowledge), seems so unlikely as to be ridiculous. If you read this, Steve, prove me wrong!

I’ll be the first to admit I may have started a bit late myself, so it may be that my aquarium-related alien trees make a return to the table top, as I do so enjoy the ungenerous ridicule they receive and the aquatic puns they inspire…

In the longer term, I’m aiming for a sort of industrial / post-industrial feel to my terrain, which I think fits my idea of a setting for a GSC insurrection nicely.

In finding the scenery I want, I have had a roam around the world of 3D printing enthusiasts selling their stuff on the Etsy, and found some very reasonably priced industrial silos. Three weeks later and no sign of a delivery yet. I did pick up something in a similar style for six quid at the Penkridge Gamers Tabletop Sale – and having liberally poked some paint at it, at least I can bring my moral superiority at bringing more new scenery to the table for our first game than the Hapless One.

Leave a comment